Many bail bond agencies play a critical part in today’s criminal justice system. Being on the wrong side of the law is never fun for individuals or their family members, but a bail bond agency can mean the difference between a person staying in jail and getting to go home during bail hearing cases.
The bailout of jail definition or decision is determined by the crimes the person in jail is accused of and whether the individual’s history would indicate whether they would be a flight risk. The terms of release vary by jurisdiction, by crime, and between states. If a person is found to be qualified for getting out on bail, the bail bond agency works with the incarcerated person’s lawyer or family to fill out and file the proper bail paperwork.
This bail paperwork includes fees that must be paid to the bail bond agency. The bail bond agency accepts the damaging financial penalties on behalf of the incarcerated in exchange for a portion of the bail amount ordered by the court. As part of bail judgments, the person let out on bail must make on-time bail payments to the bail bond agency, agree not to be arrested for any further crimes, and other conditions.
In this YouTube video, Amistad Pros describes how to become a bail bond agent in North Carolina.
Becoming a bounty hunter, or more correctly called a bail bondsman license in North Carolina, starts with an application process, paperwork processing, and passing a state exam.
All new applicants must participate in a two-day bail-education class.
The cost can be approximately $500.00. Once completed, an application with the state is filled out, and a fee is paid. The price can be $300.00 or more depending on the type of bail bonding license the applicant is applying for. Fingerprinting is done along with a background check. Finally, the applicant schedules and passes a state exam. Exam fees can be around $60.00.
If the applicant passes the state exam, a license is mailed. All newly licensed bail bond agents must work under a supervisory bail bondsman for the first year. If the applicant fails, the applicant can reapply in one year.
Although no formal education or experience is required to become a bail bondsman, in North Carolina, applicants must be a resident for at least six months. They must also be at least 21 years of age, have no prior felonies, and be capable of performing the job.